Web Based Instructional Tools


Activities and Assessment

Survey and Forms

Quizzes and Tests

Puzzles and Word Searches


Teachers need tools too so they can work with others.
stairs2JPG.jpg
Carpenter measuring.

Resources to locate free tools, Activities and lessons

  • Adaptech Research Network Free and Inexpensive Adaptive Tools www.adaptech.org/
  • Thinkfinity www.thinkfinity.org/
  • 4Teachers www.4teachers.org Activities and tools to support instruction
  • Shrockguide - Kathy's guide to everything www.schrockguide.net/
  • Open Culture www.openculture.com/ free cultural and educational media
  • Free tutorials by Articulate www.articulate.com/rapid-elearning/the-worlds-largest-repository-of-free-online-learning-tutorials/
  • Awesome Library www.awesomelibrary.org/ over 35000 resources to support instruction
  • PBS - www.pbs.org Many activities related to public television stories
  • BBC www.bbc.co.uk/learning/ British Public broadcasting with activities for all subjects at different grades
  • Discovery School school.discovery.com resources and activities related to Discovery Channel
  • National Geographic www.nationalgeographic.com/ Lessons and online adventures
  • Education World www.education-world.com/ Searchable database of over 50,000 sites related to education, curriculum ideas, lesson plans, and hot topics of the week
  • Eduscapes eduscapes.com/ Many Tools for Life Long learners of all ages.
  • Federal Resources for Educational Excellence www.free.ed.gov/ Free searchable database of materials
  • Internet for Classrooms www.internet4classrooms.com/ Activities for integrating web activities.
  • AtoZTeachers Stuff atozteacherstuff.com/ pages and pages of teacher stuff
  • ABC Teacher www.abcteach.com/ online resources for activities, materials and lessons
  • The Teacher's Guide www.theteachersguide.com/ activities, materials and lesson plans
  • TALK: Classroom Literacy Guide teach.fcps.net/talk/ Technology assisting literacy knowledge nice resource for activities for specific software.
  • 42Explore 42explore.com/ thematic ideas across content areas.
  • Scholastic Teaching Resourceswww.scholastic.com/expo/ Integrating art and creativity across the curriculum
  • Webquest webquest.org/index.php what are they and search for created quests.
  • Zunal WebQuest Creator www.zunal.com/
  • Edsitement edsitement.neh.gov Educational Material suggested websites and lesson plans
  • OATS- Open Source Assistive Techology Software www.oatsoft.org/ Users can search for free software and developers can s hare their resources. EXCELLENT place to start.
  • IAE-Pedia iae-pedia.org/Main_Page Information Age Education free education oriented encyclopedia with links to free programs, videos and lessons
  • TED www.ted.com Website sharing from innovative thinkers and experts.
  • JISC TechDis Advisory Service on technologies for inclusion - simulations, tools and accessibility guidelines www.jisctechdis.ac.uk/
  • SERGE serge.ccsso.org/ Special Education Resources for General Educators

Teacher Resources for activity development


(top)

Survey & Form Tools


(top)

Quizzes & Tests


  • ProProfs www.proprofs.com/ free tools and resources. You can create and share quizzes, flashcards, bookmarking, blogs, discussion forums, wikis.
  • Purpose Games www.purposegames.com/ create Quiz and Trivia Games
  • Quizlet quizlet.com/ simple tools that let you study anything for free
  • QuizMaster www.cybertrain.info/quizman/qmhome.html This is a free (donations requested) site where you can use existing quizzes or make your own. You can save the quizzes you make. You can also purchase a copy of the software to download and use offline.
  • QuizFaber www.lucagalli.net/en/ This is a “freeware software Download for Windows that enables you to create multimedia quizzes as HTML documents… without any prior knowledge of HTML or JavaScript.”
  • Flashcard Machine www.flashcardmachine.com/ Create online flashcards


(top)

Classroom Activity Tools: Puzzles and Games


  • Create Your Own Adobe Suite www.lifehacker.com.au/2013/01/build-your-own-adobe-creative-suite-with-free-and-cheap-software/
  • Puzzle Maker puzzlemaker.school.discovery.com "Puzzlemaker is a puzzle generation tool for teachers, students and parents. Create and print customized word search, criss-cross, math puzzles, and more using your own word lists"
  • Word Search Generator www.netrover.com/~kingskid/wordsearch/wordsearch.htm
  • Mrs. O’s Puzzles and Projects www.mrsoshouse.com/ create puzzles and projects and internet search activities.
  • Hot Potatoes www.halfbakedsoftware.com/hot_pot.php "create interactive multiple-choice, short-answer, jumbled-sentence, crossword, matching/ordering and gap-fill exercises for the World Wide Web.”
  • Sharendipity beta.sharendipity.com/ Create Custom Web Applications
  • Class Tools classtools.net/ Create free educational Games and quizzes
  • What2Learn www.what2learn.com/ Game based learning
  • Jeopardy Labs jeopardylabs.com/ create and use jeopardy games this is NOT Powerpoint!!
  • Parade of Games in PowerPoint facstaff.uww.edu/jonesd/games/ Many templates for Powerpoint games
  • Create your Own Games resources.oswego.org/games/

(top)