stairs4.jpg
Two men building stairs

Online Books, eText, Supported eText, Create your own Books: Support UDL and Level 1 RTI


Just as stairs support us to move to the next level, special reading tools can support students to higher levels of success or teach students strategic reading skills. Pair these books with screen readers (Reading)

Bookshare Free to all qualifying students with disabilities www.bookshare.org
For more information: NIMAS nimas.cast.org/ (National Instructional Materials Accessibility Standard)

Books Online
MP3 or Audio books
Books in Digital Format and Create your Own Books
Early Literacy Support
Creating Reading Probes

Strategic Reading & Writing

NCSeT: National Center for Supported eText ncset.uoregon.edu/ research on the use of supported eText to increase comprehension
Intersect Digital Library a Library of supported eText, developed by NCSet. intersect.uoregon.edu/
UDL Editions by CAST reading supported by prompts and text-to-speech udleditions.cast.org/
CAST Strategy Tutor cst.cast.org/cst/auth-login Teach research and strategy
Science Writer sciencewriter.cast.org/ Reading and writing a science report
Bookbuilder by CAST create your own strategic books bookbuilder.cast.org
ReadWorks www.readworks.org free registration provides access to reading passages aligned with common core by grade, lexile and skill
60 Second Recap www.60secondrecap.com/ 60 second recap of different novels, select novels to choose, get 60 second recap of plot, characters
Newsela newsela.com/about/ News articles that content be adjusted based on Lexile score, includes comprehension questions

Joe's Non Netbook /www.youtube.com/watch?v=SkhpmEZWuRQ eText or not a humorous view

Books Online or books to download


Readability www.readability.com/ download application, create bookmarklet to make online reading less cluttered, does not provide audio but makes it easier to use audio support on a page, use with any online eText.

MP3 Books online or Free (or cheap) Audio Books

  • Lit2Go etc.usf.edu/lit2go/ free online collection of stories and poems in Mp3
  • CCProse www.ccprose.com/ Classic literature made accessible by combining high quality audio, large print text, synchronized closed captions, and machine translations in multiple languages; we provide something for everyone.
  • FictionWise www.fictionwise.com/ebooks/freebooks.htm FictionWise sells ebooks but also has a collection of free books available in many formats, secure eReader program available as a free download.
  • Daily Lit /www.dailylit.com/ RSS feeds of free public domain books
  • Bookbox www.bookbox.com low cost books but free previews and some whole books for free, pdf downloads.
  • LibriVoxwww.librivox.org FREE audio books from the public domain
  • Open Culturewww.openculture.com/ FREE cultural and educational media - link to free audio books.
  • PikPocketBooks www.picpocketbooks.com/ books to view on a smartphone prices start at $.99
  • Books Should be Free www.booksshouldbefree.com/ download mp3 or iPod versions of audio books
  • Download free audio books www,Audiobooksforfree.com
  • Books Aloud www.booksaloud.org have qualify by having a print disability in order to download books. Complete client application
  • Free Classic Audio Books freeclassicaudiobooks.com search for different books

Create your own Books, Books in Different Formats, Animated Books & Books with Audio Feedback

  • Browser Books staff.prairiesouth.ca/~cassidy.kathy/browserbooks/index.htm Books with speech for young children to read on the web listed by category.
  • ToonBooks by Professor Garfield www.professorgarfield.com/toon_book_reader/index.html
  • Tar Heel Reader tarheelreader.org/ Switch accessible books with speech
  • Reading Genie www.auburn.edu/academic/education/reading_genie/ Information on reading books and examples of some developed with Powerpoint
  • Storynory www.storynory.com Audible books for children, listen online or download audio
  • Storyplace www.storyplace.org/ Children's Digital Library from Charlotte/Mecklanburg County English and Spanish
  • Storyline Online www.storylineonline.net/ Online streaming video books read by Screen Actors Guild
  • BookPals bookpals.net/ Books recorded by screen actors guide and others
  • Story Time for Me www.storytimeforme.com Animated books, individual words highlighted
  • Children's Storybook Online www.magickeys.com/books/ books online, audio books marked
  • Toddler School toddlerschool.net books with pictures and audio text
  • Bookpop www.bookpop.com web-enhanced reading adventures
  • Read to Me www.readtomelv.com online streaming of books
  • PBS Kids Between the Lions pbskids.org/lions Get Wild about Reading
  • Accessible Books Free books for You www.setbc.org/setbc/accessiblebooks/freebooksforyou.html
  • Tumble Books www.tumblebooks.com Online collection of library books at three levels (free trial membership)
  • Talking Books www.everhart.leon.k12.fl.us/assist_tech_resources.htm Using PowerPoint to create a talking book (PDF file) and an example.

Early Reading Support


Reading support: Creating reading fluency probes from digital curriculum materials