Create Pages, Graphics and Audio for the Web


Web Page Creators
Multi-purpose Editing Tools
Creating Graphics and Fonts
Accessible Video Using Captioning & Audio


Web Page Creators

Use these free resources to create your own web site, html programming not required


Tackk www.tackk.com create a free web site to post announcements, collect student projects,

Jimdo www.jimdo.com/ Create a jimdo free page
Joomiawww.joomla.org/ Free Open Source content management system
Roxerwww.roxer.com/ Click, drag, done web page creation - easy to use. Fairly easy but no place to add in Alt Text.
Sampa www.sampa.com/ Create a website and a blog
Weebly www.weebly.com/ Create and publish your web pages. Easy to create, look great but no place to add in Alt Text.
SchoolRack schoolrack.com free service for educators to create classroom site
Yola yola.com free service for web site creation allows addition of video
Lifeyo www.lifeyo.com Quick free service to create your own website and blog
Webs www.webs.com can include videos, calendar, polls and other widgets
Snap Pages snappages.com to create and maintain a site
Webnote webnote.com drag and drop interface
Kafafa kafafa.com ad free templates to build your own web site

--TOP--

Multi-task Editing Tools

Aviary www.aviary.com/ Online creation tools for audio, video, html
Aviary Education www.aviaryeducation.com/
Cloud Canvas www.cloud-canvas.com/ raster and vector graphics, layers and filters, creative toolkit in your browser
Kompozer kompozer.net/ WYSIWYG Editing and CSS FREE tool to use instead of Dreamweaver
Primary Access www.primaryaccess.org/ online tools to create digital source materials.
Embed Plus www.embedplus.com/ crop, zoom, slow motion, make changes to your videos
KeepVid www.keepvid.com capture and save videos on your hard drive to show in your class

Upload and Share

BeePDF
Slideshare
Yudo
Issuu
.docstoc
Scribd
Youblisher
My eBook
SimpleBooklet

--TOP--

Use of Graphics, Fonts and the Creation of Images

Images are important to help convene meaning to text, research indicates that learners understand more with an image and text than with just text alone. Also students need to be visually literate with the ability to interpret, negotiate, and make meaning from informational images. Special fonts have also been developed to assist those with visual impairments.


Information on creating paper and computer based images

WebAim: www.webaim.org/techniques/images/ sections 1-5
Web Design and DevelopmentUnit 4: Graphics Purpose of Web Graphics
www.washington.edu/accessit/webdesign/student/unit4/module1/Guidelines_for_web_graphics.htm
Web Style Guide: Images
www.webstyleguide.com/wsg3/11-graphics/index.html

Color & Contrast

Color Blind Web Page Filter colorfilter.wickline.org/
Color Lovers Blog as see by the Color Blind www.colourlovers.com/blog/2008/07/24/as-seen-by-the-color-blind/
Vischeck www.vischeck.com/vischeck/vischeckURL.php check your web page for color contrast
Effective color Contrast www.lighthouse.org/accessibility/effective-color-contrast/
Are your pages color sensitive? webdesign.about.com/od/accessibility/a/aa062804.htm
Article with suggestions from About.com

Fonts

Use Sans Serif Fonts = Arial, Trebuchet, Verdana
Making Text Legible www.lighthouse.org/accessibility/design/accessible-print-design/making-text-legible/
Tiresias www.tiresias.org/fonts/fonts_download.htm
APHfont www.aph.org/products/aphont.html designed for more legible documents

--TOP--

Creating Accessible Video on the Web


FREE Resources for Accessible Video:

Caption it Yourself: www.dcmp.org/ciy/

Media Access Group at WGBH: main.wgbh.org/wgbh/access/access.html
MAGpie Media Access Generator ncam.wgbh.org/webaccess/magpie/ FREE
CaptionTube: /captiontube.appspot.com/
Jubler: www.jubler.org/index.php Edit subtitles
Subtitle Workshop www.urusoft.net/ (open source Windows Only)
Tutorial on Captioning and Accessibility www.wac.ohio-state.edu/examples/youtube-player-controls
Simple Caption for iMovie www.macupdate.com/app/mac/16503/simple-caption
Watch Video: how to Add captions using iMove www.youtube.com/watch?v=fJ-QWLEc7to
Youtube Help: Editing Videos www.google.com/support/youtube/bin/topic.py?topic=16561 (click on adding and editing captions)

Webinar on How to Caption YouTube Video: /www.da.usda.gov/oo/target/discovery/archive.html
Scroll down for other videos on accessibility, Archived

Example of a simple YouTube video with captioning
Beware of the Black Snake www.youtube.com/watch?v=LgjNprH7tnY

Programs for Captioning - (Professional Resources)

Automatic Synch www.automaticsync.com/caption/index.htm
CPC Captioning www.cpcweb.com/
Softel Captioning and Subtitles /www.softelgroup.com/
Caption Colorado Real Time captioning /captioncolorado.com/

Resources for Audio


PodCasts HowTo reviews.cnet.com/4520-11293_7-6246557-1.html
How Stuff Works computer.howstuffworks.com/how-to-podcast.htm
AudioBoo audioboo.fm/ Mobile and web program for you to record and share audio
Twisted Wave twistedwave.com/online/ browser based audio editor

Audacity audacity.sourceforge.net/ Audio Editor and Recorder
WavePad Audio Editor www.nch.com.au/wavepad/index.html
LAME MP3 Encoder lame.sourceforge.net/ Mp3 encoder to convert audio files to Mp3

--TOP--