Free Tools for Collaboration: Web Development, Wiki or Blog Creation

Use these Web 2.0 tools to support written language and collaboration.


New to Blogs and Wiki: Read this first

Teachers First www.teachersfirst.com/content/edge.cfm
Be sure to review Google for Educators www.google.com/educators/index.html
Check out all the google tools for Collaboration- Google Docs, Google sites, Google Hangouts


Free Wiki & Docs for Collaboration or Web Pages

Wikispaces www.wikispaces.com (free no ads for educators)
PB Works www.pbworks.com (free no ads for educators)
Zoho Wiki wiki.zoho.com/
Google Hangouts with a Google+ account: plus.google.com/u/0/hangouts
How to Record a Google Hangout uses Camtasia: www.tildee.com/5owhfh
Google Docs docs.google.com
Google Sites sites.google.com
Wet Paint www.wetpaint.com (includes ads)
Wiggio wiggio.com easy way to communicate and work in groups.
KidsBlog kidblog.org/home.php safe blogging for children
SymbalooEdu www.symbalooedu.com/ Create a personal learning network for teaching
Edmodo Social www.edmodo.com Learning network for teachers


Free Blogs

Glogster EDU edu.glogster.com/ Collaborate to create online multimedia posters
WordPress wordpress.org/ Publishing Tool
EduBlogs edublogs.org/ Free for teachers and students
Class Chatter www.classchatter.com/ Free and safe blogs for classrooms
Class Blogmeister classblogmeister.com/ from the Landmark Project
Haiku www.haikuls.com/ Learning Management System and blog
Blogger www.blogger.com/
TIGed www.tigweb.org/tiged/ Taking it Global


Whiteboarding, Writing and Collaborative Drawing

(free programs to use independently or collaborate)

GE Imagination Cubed www.imaginationcubed.com/
Twiddla www.twiddla.com
Dabbleboard dabbleboard.com/
Scriblink www.scriblink.com/
Scribblar www.scribblar.com/
DoInk www.doink.com
Draw Island drawisland.com/ online drawing tool
Pirate Pad piratepad.net/ quick collaboration tool for text based document, don't have to have an account

Conferencing

Vidquik www.vidquik.com/ Quick and Simple Video conferencing
Skype skype.com video and audio conferencing
OoVoo www.oovoo.com/home.aspx Video chat with 12 friends for free

Web Page Creators

Use these free resources to create your own web site, html programming not required

Jimdo www.jimdo.com/ Create a jimdo free page
Joomiawww.joomla.org/ Free Open Source content management system
Roxerwww.roxer.com/ Click, drag, done web page creation - easy to use. Fairly easy but no place to add in Alt Text.
Sampa www.sampa.com/ Create a website and a blog
Weebly www.weebly.com/ Create and publish your web pages. Easy to create, look great but no place to add in Alt Text.

Meeting & Scheduling

Doodle www.doodle.com
Meeting Wizard www.meetingwizard.com
Google Calendar www.google.com/calendar/